What Are Vegan Donuts?
5 Things You Need To Know
Donuts are delicious treats that you can possibly get from any coffee shop. Although most of the ingredients are vegetarian, traditional donuts still include ingredients that are non-vegan. However, there are shops that sell vegan donuts. But, what are vegan donuts? How do you know you’re buying one?
Here are 5 facts you should know about vegan donuts:
1. It does not have animal by-products
Traditional donuts use eggs, milk, butter, and lard. Vegan donuts use sustainable ingredients as alternatives to replace these ingredients. This means that you will not find any animal food or ingredients present in your donuts including cheese and honey.
2. It uses a non-dairy substitute for milk.
You’ll probably wonder how it is even possible to create donuts without milk. Vegan donuts use milk that is plant-based instead of milk coming from animals. Some of these non-dairy substitutes are soy milk, almond, rice, and cocoon.
3. It can still have fillings and toppings
Although vegan donuts are more strict in its contents, it does not mean they have to be plain and blunt. There are still a wide variety of flavors you can choose from ranging from simple glazes to more complex toppings. As a matter of fact, some vegan donuts may have chocolate toppings too which of course are made without milk ingredients.
4. Not all vegan donuts are gluten free
Although vegan donuts do not use animal by-products, that does not mean they are gluten free. Vegan donuts sometimes use wheat as an ingredient which is not allowed in a gluten-free diet. However, it is still possible to find a vegan gluten free donut.
5. Some vegan donuts are fried
A common perception about vegan donuts is that they are baked and not fried. Sure, there are baked vegan donuts but there are some that are fried too. These fried vegan donuts commonly use vegetable oil to preserve the no-animal-by-product concept of vegan donuts.